Do I believe in coincidences?  (Do you?) Is a coincidence a cosmic intervention? A nudge from God? Then again, does it matter? N and Bob 2009Here’s one. About 3 days after we moved here, we walked into the Health Foods store and Nate saw Bob washing dishes in the open kitchen of the deli. “My friend,” Nate said. Then Bob’s mom came over and introduced herself and I thought, “my friend.” And we all made it so.

This morning I found a note that James had read/enjoyed the post I wrote and published last night. So I went to his blog and read.   The horrible anger that  came over me in a wave when I awoke this morning was relieved by his mention of meditation. So I washed up and put down my mat, did some stretching and then sat to meditate. I remembered James’ suggestion to pose a question, but after a few seconds I decided to craft a statement with which to pin my attention. It just came to me. Out of the blue? Coincidence, divine intervention? Here it is;

I bring love in to me. Wow! Where did this come from? I believe it came from my deepest yearnings and was the cause of my anger; that someone who, by way of our L and Peggy 2009familial relationship, should love, honor, respect me but I feel, and others have observed that instead there is ridicule and judgment and game-playing.

And so, by my action I brought about another piece in the puzzle of understanding myself. I checked in to my facebook page.   I like keeping up with my children and friends, but I really like the odd bits I’ve accumulated on my page. The “coincidence” was a story with a poem, below,  that has been making the rounds for the 5+ years since Bob Perks first wrote it.

I wish you enough, by Bob Perks, 2008

I wish you enough sun to keep your attitude bright.   I wish you enough rain to appreciate the sun more.    I wish you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive.     I wish you enough pain so that the smallest joys in life appear much bigger.   I wish you enough gain to satisfy your wanting.     I wish you enough loss to appreciate all that you possess.    I wish you enough hellos to get you through the final good-bye.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Please feel free to write to me, I get lonely.

Photos, spring 2009: Bob [left facing camera] and Nate [right].  Bob’s mom, Peggy [left] and me [r].

