Here’s what the good life is for the president of the country of Uruguay, South America. He is paid $12,000 monthly and wears sandals. Drives himself to work in his 1987 VW Beetle. He and his wife were both guerrilla fighters and both have GodBoxLifeMission2been imprisoned while fighting for the rights of their people. They live in the country in a very basic house with lemon trees and his very small 3-legged dog. Oh, and he gives away 90% of his salary to charities, mostly to help with housing for poor folks.

Does he live his good life? I think, Yes. See what the media is calling the “immediately iconic photo” of him at work. Thus reported the Washington Post [.com] yesterday. This quote at the end of article by President José Mujica; “If we lived within our means – by being prudent – the 7 billion people in the world could have everything they needed.”

Three Compassionate Strategies for Living, a post from Inspire Me Today.com which I enjoyed reading, but got stuck. Summary; 1- Always do your best, 2- Treat everyone with the dignity and respect they deserve as human beings, 3- Help others with no strings attached. Now these are very commonsensical [is that a word?]. And I do my best, but I have to fall back on a truism; I can only change myself, I cannot change anyone else. What about when people you’re related to don’t treat you kindly, with respect or dignity? How do you

WondrousLight2live with compassion, which you really want to do, feel called to do, yet you’re only human?!

Then this quote which found me tonight, clarifying the whole thing; “Its a choice. You just have to decide that I’m not going to put my energy there. I’m going to decide to let this go. It’s your choice. You can embrace it, you can become a prisoner of bitterness and resentment, anger and victim city, or you can just say ‘I’m going to live my life and be happy.’”

I’m working on happy and not angry. It’s a difficult task. I’ve made it a priority though, so I’ll let you know how it goes. I intend to win this battle. Just saying.

**Two handmade pieces; first, God Box with quote on side, second, an Affirmation card — I created/gave to a bereaved friend. Do NOT copy my creative work.

