The Christmas music in the background where I work drives me nuts. I try to ignore it, but I just don’t like it, especially when it reverberates in my head. How many times can you hear these songs without wishing, hoping, wanting to hear instead a beautiful Beethoven piano concerto? I’d even take John Lennon singing Imagine for the millionth time. 00f/43/arve/g2496/058

The shopping frenzy both annoys and amazes me. Where DO folks find the money to keep buying, and why do they keep buying? Has any scientist studied large groups of people and what percentage of the people in the large group believes buying lots of presents brings the giver or receiver happiness?

And last point today; please stop wishing me a Merry Christmas. I don’t celebrate the holiday. I’m not Christian. I enjoy my Jewish background, Jewish holidays and rituals, the Jewish Sabbath each week, and Jewish philosophy and morals. My holiday doesn’t put me in a frenzy of gift buying because I am like a squirrel; I find gifts and put them away through the year, for birthdays and for our winter holiday of Chanukah. I also give to charities, especially to Down syndrome research.

GiftBookBeLoved2 I try every day to enjoy being alive. I try every day to be grateful for the many blessings in my life. And most of all I try every day to give love and kindness. And at least at work, in December, I smile at customers and not let my annoyance at the tedious repetition of Christmas songs turn my mood sour.

I’ve included pictures; The top picture is actually from a commercial greeting card and I can’t remember the maker, sorry. I just love the image. The 2nd picture is a page in a gift book. I painted the paper with water colors and then illustrated with doodles and part of a quote.
Loss2009

And last, for my friends Margaret Anne and her children, in honor of her brother and their uncle Frank who recently died. This is my favorite quote and though I’ve already sent a handmade card with this quote on it, I often make cards for bereavement which say; “Death is nothing else but going home to God; the bond of love will be unbroken for eternity.” Quote by Mother Teresa.

