We’ve been talking about Compassion this morning. Look at this picture of the Library at Guantanamo (U.S. military) Prison.

I’m glad there are many books written in Arabic, and such a wide variety of books; fiction, nonfiction. But the Ninja Turtles and other children’s books made me very sad. And as of 2 days ago, 100 are on hunger strike, with 20 in the hospital, and forced feedings and other tactics by the authorities in the prison. How can we allow these men to continue to be imprisoned?  Many should have been freed long ago;  their cases were processed and many were granted their  release.

Will Rogers said; Even if you’re on the right track,  you’ll get run over if you just sit there.

2-2-13Card-2
And I’m keeping this post short-ish, but ending with part of a talk by Roger Ebert, the film critic who recently died.

I do not fear death, by Roger Ebert [this is only part of his talk]
O’Rourke’s had a photograph of Brendan Behan on the wall, and under it this quotation, which I memorized:

“I respect kindness in human beings first of all, and kindness to animals. I don’t respect the law; I have a total irreverence for anything connected with society except that which makes the roads safer, the beer stronger, the food cheaper and the old men and old women warmer in the winter and happier in the summer.”

[Ebert] That does a pretty good job of summing it up. “Kindness” covers all of my political beliefs. No need to spell them out. I believe that if, at the end, according to our abilities, we have done something to make others a little happier, and something to make ourselves a little happier, that is about the best we can do. To make others less happy is a crime. To make ourselves unhappy is where all crime starts. We must try to contribute joy to the world. That is true no matter what our problems, our health, our circumstances. We must try. I didn’t always know this and am happy I lived long enough to find it out. [Salon.com 4-10-13]

*Card says; “If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten we belong to each other.” Quote by Mother Teresa. Card for sale- do not copy!

