How do we live in the “now” or phrased another way; be present in our lives? This is the first time I’ve written since mid-October. Card2-10-12I chose not to feel pressured to write. I keep this blog because it suits me. Living in the “now” to me means being grateful for every breath, for rainy days which depress me a little, but feed the trees and the grass and next year’s gardens. To choose how I use my energy.

Being present in my life means that yesterday with the news of the horrible events at an elementary school in Connecticut, I contacted each of my children and told them, reminded them, that I love each one, including my 2 grandsons.

Card4-Dec12   Perhaps this says it best?
Yesterday is gone and took away its tale. 
Today we must live a fresh story again!
~ Rumi

 I’ve learned what I need to recharge. I hope to get rid of the huge pile on our dining room table before I go into work tomorrow afternoon, but if it doesn’t happen on time, it will when my spirit can no longer allow it to be put off. And I try to honor my body/spirit by disconnecting from too much stimulus,  deadlines and demands.

Yesterday my friend Peggy and I spoke by phone, beginning and ending the conversation about the children who died at school. Years ago and way too soon, Peggy’s daughter died leaving her husband and 3 small boys. When her husband died 2 years later Peggy and her husband took their 3 grandsons and raised them along with  Bob who has Downs. My friend and I often talk about the big subjects; LOSS of a child or parent, raising our sons who happen to have Down syndrome, and what we do to recharge ourselves in order to meet the lives we inhabit.

Orange:YellowKNitting

A survivor of Hurricane Sandy, quoted on Salon.com, 11/5/12;  ”..it is a beautiful life. It’s beautiful and it’s cruel and it’s amazing and it’s horribly unfair and all that we have within it is each other. All that endures is not how badly we feel about ourselves but how kindly we choose to treat each other.”

How we treat ourselves, how we treat others; these are what I believe to be the measure of our humanity. If we would pay the toll for the car in line after ours, why not also treat ourselves with gentleness, thoughtfulness, no, not an extra handful of greasy potato chips, but an extra dose of compassion. Best to you and yours. Remember to tell them you care. Live each day as if it is your last. It might be!

*Cards shown here recently made and property of EsthersGirls. Please do not steal my work.

