I’m reading “A Woman’s Worth” again after a long time from the first reading. (Published 1993) I’ve used a Marianne Williamson quote on my cards. Even in the Preface she makes a powerful statement: “Such has been our womanquest. It is conscious and disciplined, or unconscious and unbridled. Whether we’ve learned anything or not, our suffering has shaped who we are, and for better or for worse we’ve been changed by the past few years…”
For me the most changes occurred as a result of my marriage ending not long after this book came out. Now I deal with changes due to aging, and my son’s aging. Did you know folks with Down syndrome age faster? Yup, and with lots of consequences for us both.

I’m also enrolled in a 21 day Meditation Challenge by Deepak Chopra, called Living in Love. Should be interesting. Apparently according to research it takes 21 consecutive days of doing something for it to become a habit, and meditation has been found to have positive effects on the mental health of participants.

My friend Peggy says to watch out for my expectations, they can prove to be harmful to my health. This is in reference to a relationship I’ve temporarily blocked with a “close” family member, due to its toxicity to my well-being. I think she hopes I’ll find a way back to loving this person. In the meantime she recommended I think about the message of the Serenity Prayer;

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference.

Attributed to Reinhold Niebuhr.

So, I’m off to meditate, AND remind myself of the Serenity prayer, AND then set the timer for Nato so he’s ready for the caregiver. We do this when I’, off at work and he’s home waiting to go out. I enjoy getting in my work grove and forgetting everything but the routine of the job. It has its own rewards – similar to meditation. Perhaps all this will help me forget about the horrible heat that is ongoing here on the prairie, and I guess in the rest of the country too. !! Stay cool !!

** The cards shown here are destined to be in the shop when the website changes over (presto!) to new format- soon, I hope. I’ll let you know.

