Sunday afternoon
I am in the midst of a knitting project. It is actually similar to a patchwork quilt, but knitted. The one thing I’ve learned from knitting is that I can live up to my standards alone and the results leave me quite satisfied. Yet I dislike being in a knitting group, because for the most part I only knit straight things that I can create without instructions. Within a group I’ve found there are hierarchies and competition all of which I don’t enjoy or wish to indulge. For me knitting is contemplative. A quiet activity I enjoy; hands moving, creating while my mind wanders.
Currently I’m reading the newest SARK book: Glad No Matter What; Transforming Loss and Change into Gift and Opportunity. Wonderful title don’t you think? I’ve found a few quotes within the first few pages that I want to use, including this one by William James; Believe that life is worth living and your belief will create that fact. Be not afraid to live. She writes about not glad at all. “Even 1 to 5 seconds of acknowledging a not glad feeling will cause this energy to be able to shift and change.
The first craft show of the year this weekend. Difficult to get back into the swing; lots on my mind weighing me down. That said; the cards I’ve created recently have been beautiful. The one pictured in this post is part of the newest batch. I had some envelopes with small Native American pictures on them, and used that to develop a group of 4 cards with sayings by Native Americans, and collages reflecting the spirit of the sayings.
Last: about my frustration with my son at the show. Sometimes when we are too much together one of us will start the “Sweetheart” game. One calls the other sweetheart, and the other must respond with a sugary sweet endearment. I used to call my babies and toddlers; honey pie. So I’ll use that in the game which of course takes me back in time. What a great game. Lasts a few minutes, but raises the ‘glad quotient’ immediately and higher. What a great feeling. One last quote, by Robert Evans, from SARK’s book dedicated to my younger sister. “There are three sides to every story: my side, your side, and the truth. And no one is lying. Memories shared serve each one differently.”
The images in this post are (1) a bit of my knitting [one of the patchwork “squares”] attached to a tree branch with buttons and other embellishments, (2) the Native American card and (3) a tiny portion of my watercolor painting and ribbon on a journal cover.
A reminder of sunshine, of hope and love.

