22 August, 2010
Wow! Just finished an incredible historical novel, set in the 1750’s in the new land inhabited by Native Americans, bears, fish, etc, and also trappers, hunters, indentured servants, slaves, and British and French soldiers. The book? Eliot Pattison’s Bone Rattler.
“Hope was their poison, for hope was the seed of despair, and on the dark, dank prisoner deck those who had embarked with the greatest hopes were now dying of despair.” This is the third sentence on the first page of the story.
We’ve all heard it said; if we don’t study history and herstory, we’re bound to repeat it… Here’s my opinion on that. We repeat it because we humans have a spectrum of emotions and actions. No doubt whatever someone does today, it’s been done before, often, in the span of time humans have lived on this planet. (Right- an original illustration from one of James Fenimore Cooper’s books.)
Speaking of despair and hope, my younger daughter has completed her recent adventure. She chose to change the course of her life; give up everything and move several states away, to start anew. It did not work out as she anticipated. Near the end she and I spoke over the phone. She wondered if it would be seen as a failure. I told her many people sit around saying, I want to change my life, and then they continue sitting around. She stood up and went through trouble, toil, and challenging circumstances. Reiterating my sentiment I wrote in an e-mail; “I’M VERY PROUD OF WHAT YOU’VE ACCOMPLISHED. Not every attempt brings us to the end we desired.”
Do I believe her try is as good as a win? YES. Ultimately she’ll have changed herself by what she did. And that is her accomplishment. “Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the little voice at the end of the day that says I’ll try again tomorrow.” ~Mary Anne Radmacher [hey check her out!]

