Happy Birthday America- July 4th, 2010
The amazing book; Tattoos on the Heart, by Gregory Boyle a Jesuit priest, has left me both heart sore, and proud of this man’s work with gang members in Los Angeles for the last 20 years. What an amazing accomplishment; his work, his memory for details that made me laugh, sigh and cry, and his ongoing advocacy for people many like to avoid.
This past week brought 2 meetings with local libraries. Nato and I attended with an advocate: husband, father, brother of a woman with significant disabilities during her lifetime. He also runs a state Arc. All during the time period; from when I decided to call for the meetings to the actual BIG day- I read Father Greg’s book. Robert Frost wrote, and he quoted; “How many things have to happen to you before something occurs to you?”
And so the eye-opener for me, was realizing afterward that the array of folks around each of the tables that day, for the most part – [have] “forgotten that we belong to each other.” That’s in the book, and attributed to Mother Teresa. Oh yeah, I saw that in action!
And the last quote I’ll share is this; “The wrong idea has taken root in the world. And the idea is this: there just might be lives out there that matter less than other lives.” This by Father Greg Boyle, known to the homies and homegirls as G-dog.
WAY TO GO, Father Greg! When the first library erased the fine we owed, I said I’d just give the amount to their Friends of the Library group. I’ve changed my mind. It’s going to a group of folks who really need it. And who would be grateful to know it’s coming from someone who’s also been treated as if he matters less. Hmph, we’ll just see about that.

