Friday, 30 April 2010
This will be short; 2 craft shows this weekend, and the opening of a juried art show with 3 of my art works. Oh joy!
From J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Fellowship of the Ring; “All that is gold does not glitter, not all those who wander are lost; the old that is strong does not wither, deep roots are not reached by the frost. From the ashes a fire shall be woken, a light from the shadows shall spring; renewed shall be the blade that was broken,
the crownless again shall be king.”

Why the quote? It moved me, and I wanted to share it. A thought occurred today while reading a historical novel in which the word leviathan was used. I know it is the title of several books, including a new-ish one that ties into the recently
evolved Steam Punk movement. I love everything “steam punk” I’ve seen; from costumes to wedding cakes. I need to ask though; why do so

many people want an alternate story, life, image? Is it because they are dissatisfied with what they have now? Or is it for the pleasure of creating a world as one wishes it?
Here is a little doodle I made, part of another new “thing” called Zentangling. Look it up. It’s lots of fun. One comment that I keep reading; I didn’t think I could draw, but I can doodle. Hmm, sounds like me, oh right, I did say that! Not all those who wander are lost!

