Sunday, 17 January 2010
I’ve had a quiet day, mostly. Got lots of creative work done while Nato spent the day with one of his harem. (He has 3 female care-givers.) In this post I want to share a quote that really resonated within me. Having worked with children, besides my own, for a long time, I have some strong opinions, helped especially by a workshop I went to, let’s see.. well it was a long time ago. There was a session about teaching young children in day care autonomy. That is; learning to make choices, understanding consequences. Afterward I said to myself; this is what I need to do at home, to dispel the chaos that existed in our home of 2 adults, 4 children, all of us running, doing, busy busy. I did create a transformation, it works, children deserve to be given direction on how to run their own lives, live with the results of their choices, and most of all know good choices from bad.
“The paradox of education is precisely this – that as one begins to become conscious, one begins to examine the society in which he is being educated. The purpose of education, finally, is to create in a person the ability to look at the world for himself, to make his own decisions, to say to himself this is black or this is white, to decide for himself whether there is a God in heaven or not. To ask questions of the universe, and then learn to live with those questions, is the way he achieves his own identity. But no society is really anxious to have that kind of person around. What societies really, ideally, want is a citizenry which will obey the rules of society. If a society succeeds in this, that society is about to perish. The obligation of anyone who thinks of himself as responsible is to examine society and try to change it and to fight it – at no matter what risk.” This quote by James Baldwin, appears on the blog; http://www.peace RebelGirl.wordpress.com
I strongly believe in educating myself, trying to form opinions based on more than hearsay, or (g-d forbid) the local newspaper. Living in a very small town, as I do right now has been an eye- opening experience of the graft and greed, the swaying of the laws that is done by those set to watch over them, carry them out and care for the needs of the citizenry. Scary, real scary.
To lighten this post I’ve sprinkled pictures of my latest creative efforts, two affirmation cards and the last – a “sister” card. It says; “Sister to sister, we will always be. A couple of nuts off the family tree.” That’s as light as it gets.

