Sunday, 8 November 2009
The weather was strangely warm yesterday and today. High yesterday 73 degrees, upper 60’s forecasted–what the weather prediction wrong? Horrors, that doesn’t ever happen !! Began work today on a commission, so came across some new or forgotten quotes. “The world needs all of our power and love and energy, and each of us has something to give. IMG_0001The trick is to find it and use it, to find it and give it away, so there will always be more. We can be lights for each other, and through each other’s illumination we will see the way. Each of us is a seed, a silent promise, and it is always spring.” (By Merle Shain, Canadian author and journalist now deceased.) The Chanukah card, right, has a Peter Yarrow (of Peter, Paul and Mary fame) partial chorus; Don’t let the light go out, it’s lasted so many years. Don’t let the light go out, let it shine through our love and our tears.
Interesting times we live in. Volcanic eruptions in the desert in Ethiopia created a crack in the earth, 20 feet wide in some areas, which scientists now believe will lead to the sea filling this new space. And all this will occur in about a million years, give or take a year or two. So here’s history in the making, that the generations to come, almost beyond counting will remark that long, long ago, their great-great generations past remembering saw this happen. Of course all this is supposing the planet survives the current and near-future degradations.
October was/is National Down syndrome Awareness Month, NDSC_Baseball and I chose this poster because Nato likes baseball. (www.ndsccenter.org) He is busily crafting his needlepoint works, because I’ve signed HIM and I up for a show in early Dec, that we did last year, and at which he sold mucho stuff, and made over $40 !! “Doing and making are acts of HOPE, and as that HOPE grows we stop feeling overwhelmed by the troubles of the world.” (quote by Corita Kent, who was born in Iowa, became a sister for awhile in the Immaculate Heart community, and throughout her life was an artist and activist for social justice and peace.)
Speaking of shows, I did well at most recent one, and the newest G-d box sold. I was very pleased with the ease of construction, and the arrangement of papers and fabrics, in yellows/oranges/reds. Warm, inviting, and hopefully useful and encouraging for whomever receives it. I made new friends, traded a card for a cat toy, was the happy recipient of odds and ends of craft materials, including Ugly sewing material (label on bag), IMG perfect for an idea I’ve had for awhile that I hope to try out at our next Craft Circle.
Because I’m ahead of the game in the department of winter holiday cards, (what a relief!) I will have time to; construct more G-d boxes for show coming up, maybe clean the house before next craft circle meeting, think about Thanksgiving meal plans, and work on setting straight some business I’ve let go for too long.
Mostly I wanted to use this post to convey my thanks to the Universe for bringing us the caregivers we have now. Each is a different light, and I/we are grateful to them, for them. Here’s a quote I came across: “We can learn just to be; to be in the moment, to be in the now, to be in the love. We are what we choose, let’s choose for the love.” (by Isha Judd)
Last, very much not least of all– a giant nut cracked a few days ago. I know because I heard it, felt the reverberations, and am slowly picking out the nut-meat to savor. The nut? My recent depression. box 11-09 Unfortunately I had little professional help, though I went with intent, a total of over half dozen times between two different therapists. Neither worked out for me. I struggled mightily like a boxer in the ring, fists up then punching out, feet dancing and body bobbing and weaving. A mighty fight, not quite over, but past the mid-point of the bell curve, and coming down the mountain where, yes, there be dragons, headed toward the plateau otherwise known as; Take a deep breath, and another, and resume living while coming to terms with knowledge gained from this experience. The plateau lasts for a bit and then leads to the rapids, where waters from several branches converge, just as who I was, who I can be, who I hope to be, will join in unity, finally.
The G-d Box; think of an “o” in the center between G-d. On the lid is a saying: Troubles pile up, stress wears us down. Write it down, place in the box. Then…Imagine…each paper flies on wings to G-d. We are relieved of responsibility for that troublesome, wearying thought/emotion. Imagine…each paper is carried on the wind away~~away~~ to be dispersed. Give up your troubles to G-d. Feel free. For a while.
Be well, be happy. Here’s a wonderful musical adventure from Pamplamoose to help.

