Wednesday 28 October 2009
Yesterday while teaching art in the after- school program, I explained how artists play the “what if’s.” What if I used green (cool color) instead of a warm color? What if…
With the 2 incidents last Monday on top of the depression that started over the summer, I’ve been working on the “what if’s” myself. What if I take life easy for awhile, do what I can do, and not berate myself for sometimes escaping with a book? So far it’s working. IMGI’ve even worked twice, no three times, making new cards. I found outrageous and funny sayings to use with some red and green paper and envelopes that are those bright blinding colors. So far I’m doing two shows in the next two months and these ten cards are for a particular client who wants an edgy card to give someone for Christmas. And if my sewing machine cooperates, I’ll have them completed soon. My own favorite saying is: Roses are reddish, violets are blue-ish, If it weren’t for Christmas, we’d all be Jewish. (by Bennie Hill) One of Nate’s caregivers likes the one that says; If you step on people in this life, you’re going to come back as a cockroach. (by Willie Davis) The one I’ve posted here has the longest saying, by Bill Watterson who draws Calvin & Hobbes cartoons. “Oh look, yet another Christmas TV special! How touching to have the meaning of Christmas brought to us by cola, fast food, and beer…Who’d have ever guessed that product consumption, popular entertainment, and spirituality would mix so harmoniously? Ok, so enough of my bias that a religious holiday ought to be treated like a religious holiday, or else I’ll make weird, mocking holiday cards!
On a new subject, while Nate joined a teen group in the library last night, I sat and read an entire book, and was absolutely entertained and delighted. Go to http://www.gapingvoid.com and read the cartoons. It’ll be worth it.
Another site that I found fulfilled a different need (to be comforted and challenged in a supportive way). http://abundance-blog.marelisa-online.com/
And there’s plenty of creative people on line, especially knitters and mixed-media artists. The one I’m sharing with you is- “grrl + dog, found at http://dneese.blogspot.com/ Go to yesterday’s post for some street art fun. Oh you crazy wonderful Australians. Hmm, do you think some non-gender street art would at least get this community we’re living in out of its rut?
Yesterday I finally met someone here (other than Nate’s caregivers or my friend Peggy), a banker who reacted as I did, when I mentioned how everyone is always throwing up to me the Handicapped Development Center Nate's pumpkin 2009…the name makes me cringe and ponder out loud why they don’t change it to The Happy Development Center. Her immediate response was: “That’s what I’m saying!”
One last “what if.” What if the people who live here, many of them willing to accept mediocre, somehow saw how harmful mediocre can be?
What if I just took a soapbox downtown…
(picture: Nate’s pumpkin made at Habitat ReStore’s Fall Festival, October 2009)

