What happened on day 3 and 4 from last post? Tiredness grew into exhaustion. I went to the Pow-wow with 8 journals and 13 cards all with Native American sayings in the collages mostly made with earth colors and embellished with pieces of my textured handmade paper.
IMG
This week, the first week in a whole year, I am alone. My son is visiting his sister and nephew in Montana. During 4/5’s of his visit ironically their father will be there. This is the father who refuses to allow his middle son to come visit.

Today I hope to work on a new idea for the shows. Also continue making cards. Always brewing in the back of my mind (does such a place exist?) are little cursors before blank space waiting to be filled.
Was that dramatic enough? Actually I’m participating in an Art Walk this coming weekend, and will not only put together cards, pinning the elements down, but then will stitch them together to complete the process I use. I will offer my supplies to visitors. They can create collages which I’ll sew. Pretty exciting.

This morning, a diverse news read. First watching a report on the young Iranian woman, Veda who was shot and killed. Then the short article about Ed McMahon’s death. For me it was just a nostalgic trip down memory lane. Much more striking was the death of John Hope Franklin that I read about in a copy of The Nation I picked up in the library book sale department. Now that’s a great loss.

IMG_0001 Two cultural events; a concert of 85, or was it 87 trombones, an organ and a singer in a Frank Lloyd Wright building. Must have been remarkable. To be engaged, both sight and hearing!! The second; a visual display by Dutch photographers who captured pictures of New York.

A most engaging article; How the Food Makers Captured our Brains, by Tara Parker-Pope. About a book by Dr. Kessler, formerly head of the Food and Drug Administration. “…It was also under his watch that FDA enacted regulations requiring standardized Nutrition Facts labels on food. In one memorable action, he had 24,000 gallons of orange juice seized because although made from concentrate, it was labeled “fresh”.” wikipedia.com

His book; The End of Overeating, Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite” (2009 Rodale) “Why does that chocolate chip cookie have such power over me?” Dr. Kessler asked in an interview. “Is it the cookie, the representation of the cookie in my brain? I spent seven years trying to figure out the answer.”

“When it comes to stimulating our brains, Dr. Kessler noted, individual ingredients aren’t particularly potent. But by combining fats, sugar and salt in innumerable ways, food makers have essentially tapped into the brain’s reward system, creating a feedback loop that stimulates our desire to eat and leaves us wanting more and more even when we’re full.

Kessler talks about manipulation by food makers and restaurants to create the particularly potent and perfect Bliss point. Many of us believe that might be the chocolate chip cookie. Read more of the N.Y. Times article at: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/06/23/health/23well.html?8dpc
IMG_0002
And so in the next (counting today, it’s only 10:30 a.m.) 6 and a half days I hope to reach my own personal Bliss point, either through writing or collage-making, or…ta-da, drum roll…maybe both !! That would make this singular week equal to an unlimited pile of chocolate chip cookies, with pecans. Yum.

Today’s post enhanced by the visuals; top, newly made baby card of vibrant orange, yellow and green. I dedicate this card to my daughter Shoshana, soon to be the birthday girl. Middle; another new baby card, this one a very pleasing arrangement of slightly tilted items, in blues/greens and yellows, I dedicate to my middle son Nate who is always “an ever-fresh and radiant possibility.” Last, an 8×10 sized wonder that I’ve kept for myself with a Rumi quote. It reads; “The breeze at dawn has secrets to tell you. Don’t go back to sleep. You must ask for what you really want. Don’t go back to sleep. People are going back and forth across the doorsill where the two worlds touch. The door is round and open. Don’t go back to sleep.

I’m awake. Gotta go.

