Monday, 11 May 2009
IMG_0002
A little present from Pierce, a youngster from one of the after-school art classes I taught over six weeks. He could at times be a wild child. And then he could be very sweet, working hard to complete a project, either mine or his own self-imposed one, such as this flower in a flower pot. What a gorgeous and vibrant orange!

In the category of: When Life Lobs Lemons at You, Make Lemonade- Yesterday my middle son and I attended a Library Book Sale where in addition to books, tapes, movies, we found plants. And fresh plants from someone’s garden, because every one I planted in my garden later, had worms in the pots. A few plants ended up in THE rock garden. This is sited on the rise of our front lawn, where a large earth chewing machine (isn’t that the official name?) took out the earth during a snowstorm in December to uncover the broken water pipes causing a flood in my basement. The Lemon. The rock garden, small as it is now, is the lemonade. Sorry no picture available, yet.

I didn’t get to sell Mother’s Day cards this past weekend. IMG_0001 A high wind whipped at everything, especially along the Mississippi riverfront where the farmer’s market is located. Sigh. Meantime I struggled with which card best represented this year’s efforts, to be immortalized in my small but growing collection. Basically they are cards I can’t bear to part with, even for money. Two mother’s day cards made the top of the list. Here’s one of them.
The saying is by Erma Bombeck, who I adore for her on-target humor about family life. Have you any idea how many kids it takes to turn off one light in the kitchen? Three. It takes one to say, “What light?” and two more to say, “I didn’t turn it on.”
It kind of gave me a nostalgic pinch, because now there’s just Nato and I, and it’s not the same. By the way, the stamp on the bottom right of the card is a camel. You know; kitchen, water, camel. So now you know how my crafty mind works.

Finally, while taking a break from making more cards, searching the web on “art as therapy” I came up with an article called: A Proposed Job Swap to Save American Capitalism, by Liz Lerman. You can find the whole thing-http://www.communityarts.net/readingroom/archivefiles/2009/03/a_proposed_job.php
Choreographer Liz Lerman is founding artistic director of Liz Lerman Dance Exchange in Takoma Park, Md., and a 2002 MacArthur Fellow.
At any rate she writes about artists replacing brokers on Wall Street. (Hmm, brokers, is that right?)

Since their first task will be getting economic markets back on solid footing, I’m convinced that artists have the perfect resumès for their new jobs. Here’s why:

1. Artists work ridiculous hours for no pay. And most of the artists I know will keep working until they get the job done right.
2. Artists do not need fancy offices. In fact, they usually work in the worst part of town … until that part of town becomes fancy because the artists are there. Then they have to move because they haven’t paid themselves enough to afford the new rent.
3. Artists throw everything they earn back into the store – which is why they haven’t paid themselves enough. (I will admit that there was one time I didn’t do this. When I was awarded a MacArthur Fellowship back in 2002, I decided to open my first retirement account. I put the money in “very safe” stock market investments. I would have been better off putting it into my next dance.)…

The job swap I propose might have a final payoff: With artists in charge of Wall Street, you might even see people donate to the cause because artists know how to inspire others to participate together, to work for something that matters, to build on the intangibles of the human experience, to make a difference.

Imagine that kind of Wall Street.
Nate & Bob, Spring Formal
This picture has nothing to do with the article here! It’s my Nato and his best friend Bob, splendidly attired for the Spring Formal Dance they attended recently.

I’m thinking–imagine the kind of world where children make orange flowers, and grown men who have Down Syndrome do ordinary things like going to dances!

